A new UK Government took office on 11 May. As a result the content on this site may not reflect current Government policy.
All statutory guidance and legislation published on this site continues to reflect the current legal position unless indicated otherwise.

Further education and skills

Becta takes the national lead in supporting the Further education and skills sector to maximise value and transform learning through the effective and creative use of technology.


From time to time, Becta manages, or is involved in, award schemes for the further education and skills sector. Details about the awards currently applicable are available in this section.

Next Generation Learning Awards

These awards reward all types of learning provider in the FE & Skills sector and seek to identify those across the whole system who are fully confident in the use of technology. Find out more about the awards programme and read case studies from this year's shortlisted providers.

The Beacon Awards Programme

The Association of Colleges' (AoC) Beacon Awards Programme recognises and commends initiatives (programmes, courses, projects or other forms of teaching, learning, advice, guidance or support) of proven outstanding quality and effectiveness.

Learndirect Achievement Awards

Learndirect Achievement Awards aim is to celebrate the achievements of learners, employers and learndirect learning centres, the three main categories are Individual Learner, Business and Learner support.

LSIS Star Awards

LSIS Star Awards aim to recognise and reward individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the quality of learning in Further Education and Skills Sector.