Access Key Definitions
Skip navigation
Access key details
Home page
Latest updates
Site map
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Terms and conditions

The DfE is conducting a review of the primary and secondary National Curriculum.
This site contains the statutory programmes of study for National Curriculum subjects which maintained schools must follow until a new curriculum is in place.

The secondary curriculum

The National Curriculum for England at key stages 3 and 4 was first published by QCA in 2007, and implementation in schools started in September 2008. It has been developed to enable schools to raise standards and help all their learners meet the challenges of life in our fast-changing world.

Non-statutory materials previously published in this section can now be found on the UK government web archive. More information on the restructuring of the website is available in the FAQs section of this website.

The aims, values and purposes that underpin the National Curriculum.

Statutory requirements that apply across the secondary curriculum.

Programmes of study and level descriptions for all key stage 3 and 4 subjects.

Principles and exemplification for developing effective assessment.

Back to top